How to record gameplay using Twitch on your PS4 console

Perhaps one of the coolest features of the PlayStation 4 (aside from its amazing performance capabilities) is its ability to quickly capture streaming video directly from your gameplay. Needless to say, for people who like to broadcast things like “Let’s play” sessions, this addition is something of a revelation. However, it doesn’t end there, the way the PSN is set up with the “Twitch” service, you can also play the part of spectator, watching other people’s gameplay in real-time if you want. For many, this is probably one of the most interesting features of Sony’s new console and no doubt it will most likely attract a large number of interested gamers as well as help build social communities.

The question on some people’s minds at this point though, is “how do I record gameplay using Twitch, anyway?” No need to fret, we’re about to tell you how it’s done… First off, before you do anything game-related, you’re going to want to pay a visit to twitch.tv/signup and create an account. No surprises here, but it should also be mentioned that the account you’re setting up will serve as your domain for your vlog (video blog), so you might want to choose an appropriate handle.

Next, you simply hit the “Share” button on your DualShock 4 controller. From there you will open up a blue-background menu which offers you a choice of 3 different options.

They are:

1. Upload video clip

2. Upload screen shot

3. Broadcast gameplay

Naturally, you want to select #3 – broadcast gameplay. You can actually broadcast using 2 different services, “Twitch” and “Ustream”. Since we’re covering the former, we’ll concentrate on it (within the context of this article). It’s going to ask you to input all of your related Twitch account information at this point. Once that’s done, you only need to authorize the PS4 permission to access your Twitch account and refine your personal settings and you should be good to go. The only thing left to do is click on the “Start Broadcasting” bar and you’re in business.

It should also be noted that you can hit the share button again while you’re playing in order to enable / disable various features, like whether or not you prefer that your microphone be active, etc. Moreover, every single time you start and then stop broadcasting, up to 15 mins of your gameplay is automatically coalesced into a sharable video clip (and a screenshot is also taken). For those who plan on getting the most out of this amazing new service, consider adopting a regular time to broadcast (which you then inform your audience of via social media of in advance). Have fun!

Comments

comments

Add Comment Register



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>